EUROPEAN THEMED LUNCHBOXES

See, What i found here:

Ok, so it’s not quite Around the World in 80 Days – more like around a bit of Europe in a week’s lunch boxes, but I had fun making them and more importantly Ruby enjoyed eating them.

I know I’m really lucky in that she’s not really a fussy eater, but there’s no harm in pushing her palate further and we’ve found this to be a great way to introduce new foods.

These lunches were inspired by a new cookie cutter I bought recently – the GB outline.  I admit, I have a problem with cookie cutters, I can’t stop buying them. 

Then things just progressed, and most of the others needed no special equipment.

I know some of this may seem extravagant for a child’s lunchbox, but honestly, the basis for most of them was leftovers from our dinner the night before.

Image
 
Great British Lunch:

  • Cucumber sandwich
  • English smoked cheese
  • Mini Yorkshire puddings and roast beef (leftover from Sunday dinner)
  • Scone with jam
  • Strawberries

The little toppers were leftover from a cake case set I bought from Poundland at Jubilee.
Image

 
French Lunch:

  • Mini croissants
  • Brie
  • Cornichons (as Ruby likes to call them because she’s well posh – to you and I they’re gherkins)
  • Grapes
  • Lemon tart (leftover from pudding the night before)
  • Fromage Frais

The toppers are easy to make – Google the flag image, print and cut out and glue onto a cocktail stick

Image
 
Spanish Lunch

  • Spanish omlette (leftover from my dinner the night before and made with assorted bits from the fridge)
  • Slices of chorizo
  • Olives
  • Churros 
  • Nutella chocolate spread to dip
  • Strawberries

Image

Italian Lunch:

  • Slice of pizza (leftover from dinner – I added some extra veg in the form of frozen sweetcorn!)
  • Salami
  • Amaretti biscuit (she was honoured to get one of these from my stash!)
  • Grapes

Image

Swedish Lunch:


  • Rye bread
  • Cheese
  • Hard boiled egg
  • Smoked salmon (leftover from dinner)
  • Cucumber
  • Homemade ginger biscuits
  • Orange slices
 
Happily she came home with an empty lunch box and a full tummy every day.  The only thing from the whole week that she didn’t eat was the Spanish Omelette and that was totally my fault – I didn’t hide the onions well enough!  But she took a bite and tried it and that’s all I can ask.
 
Have you tried themed lunches?  Any of these you fancy?  I wished I’d made a Spanish one for myself too!
 
Article Source: Me& My Shadow
 
 

Leave a comment